Skip navigation

Ahhhh yes… it’s that time again! Logan aka ROGANSAN’s 3rd Annual Thanksgiving Throwdown! This time, instead of being at his house in Irvine, it was at Opie’s house in Huntington Beach, since a lot more people were coming. So, after waking up super early, I went back to LA to buy ingredients and prepare my items for the potluck. I had to make mashed potatoes, asparagus, ribs, biscuits, and bring a few jugs of water. Total costed me about $70 for everything, so not too bad. Started boiling up the potatoes right as I got home, since they take the longest. Threw the biscuits in the oven, then started sauteeing the asparagus. Also threw some mushrooms, onions, and fresh mozarella on the asparagus, then covered everything with some fresh black pepper and some more olive oil.

img_0905

Mashed the potatoes, then added some garlic and fresh pesto. Ribs were to be taken care of once I got there. Everything actually came out super well, other than the biscuits, which came out flat because my oven’s heat sensor broke, so everything was below temp. They were still good though, so I brought them along anyway hahah.

So I packed everything up in a large box, threw everything in my trunk, and headed off to Huntington Beach. Actually a fair amount of traffic on the 5S as always, but once I got on the 605 to the 405, it was all clear. The house was in a gated community, so I had to stop and tell the security guard who’s house I was going to, and he had to check his list to make sure my name was on it. Pretty hardcore, though not the first time I’ve experienced this hahah.

img_0906

One of my favorites still to this day. Listen to that song when you need to get somewhere fast LOL.

First thing I noticed when I got there though.. the houses are SUPER nice. They’re all facing the water, and have their own private docks for their boats and whatnot. So dope.

img_0907

So nice.

Anyway, once I got in, I put down everything that was ready to go on the table, and got back in the kitchen to help everyone out.

img_0908

Working in the kitchen.

img_0909

Opie throwing down some dry-rub on the ribs!

img_0911

This came in handy at night when it got really cold hahah.

img_0913

Yep, that’s their own personal boat in their “backyard.” Yoshi grabbing the first beer of the day as well.

img_0914

Must be nice waking up to this every morning.

img_0916

Justin working his magic on my rack of ribs.

img_0917

Opie slicing up the first two racks.

img_0918

Mmmmm… so good.

img_0919

Turkey #1!

img_0921

Prepping the Salmon for grilling. Cedar planks.. only way to do it!

img_0922

Pigs in a blanket! Bacon wrapped figs. AMAZING.

img_0923

Taizo’s UNIVERSE FAMOUS Guacamole. You haven’t had good guac until you’ve tried this!

img_0924

Amazing spread. Not even everything yet!

img_0925

Taizo’s Spam Musubi. These were gone QUICK.

img_0928

Kebabs!

img_0926

Ready to carve.

img_0929

Logan: master turkey handler.

img_0930

Came out so good.

img_0931

Some more spread!

img_0935

Everyone lining up to get food.

3051982836_f01e660344

Time for turkey!

img_0936

Plate #1. Already super dead after this plate LOL.

img_0937

LOL. “I want to rub his DOME.”

img_0938

Wii’n it up.

img_0939

Tennis!

img_0940

Carving up Turkey #2!

img_0941

Rogansan “schoolin da youf” on how to properly carve a turkey.

img_0942

Homemade stuffing, and homemade gravy. Awesometown.

img_0943

Justin double-fisting. Red in one hand, white in the other.

I ended up leaving around midnight to head back to LA. Definitely would’ve stayed longer, but figured I should get back early so I could sleep. Yea. That totally worked LOL.

This year was definitely a GREAT success. Great food, great company. Can’t ask for more than that.

Till next time!

– Chaz

3 Comments

  1. Holleration!

    Thanks for the cooking help MF Charles!

  2. Also

    I think your pyrex dish is still at Opie’s haha

    Ill grab it back for you


Leave a Reply

