Skip navigation

So then, I’ve been looking through my old photos on my iPhone, and realized that there were actually quite a few events/restaurants that I’ve gone to in the past month that I have yet to share with everyone here. Most of them I have already taken care of, but there were a few that slipped past my mind and were therefore replaced with other posts. In light of these events, I have decided that I would just take the time and cram all these forgotten posts into one cumulative post.

However, looking through “one mo’ gain,” I realized that many of these places are rather insignificant, so I actually only have one restaurant that I deem important enough to bring back from the past. That restaurant is:

Sanuki no Sato (November 15th)

18206 S Western Ave
Gardena, CA 90248
(310) 324-9184

If you’ve never been here, or even heard of the joint, I suggest that you take a day and plan to try this famous Udon restaurant out in Gardena/Torrance. The quality of the udon is just AMAZING.

img_0820

For those of you who can’t read Japanese, it reads Sanuki no Sato LOL.

img_0821

Random light ball lamp outside. Thought it was kind of interesting.

img_0822

First on the list: Gyutan Shioyaki (Broiled Beef Tongue w/ Salt). Always good.

img_0823

What I ordered: Tempura Zaru Udon. Fresh cold Udon to be dipped in Tsuyu in the same manner as Soba.

img_0825

What Juhee ordered: Nabeyaki Udon. A popular Udon soup dish that’s cooked in the pot it’s served in.

img_0826

Chawan Mushi (Poached Egg and Tofu w/ various goodies inside). Nice way to end a meal. Light, refreshing, and of course delicious.

img_0828

Wonder who was bored enough to do this? Hahah.

After that meal, headed back out to K-Town for some dessert. Where else to go for dessert and drinks than good ol’ Mr Coffee?

537 S Western Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90020
(213) 389-6767

img_0832

Green Tea Ice Cream and some Iced Peach Tea.

So that’s that. Now, onto things that actually fall in to chronological order.

Sunday, I went back to Arcadia to grab dinner with my pops. I usually eat dinner with my parents every week, but since my mom is currently in Taiwan, and I’ve been overloaded with work, I haven’t really gotten to do so for the past two weeks. I made sure my schedule was clear that night, picked up my dad from the house, and we chose to have Sushi for dinner that night. Seeing as how my dad absolutely despises having to travel far for food, we kept it close and went to Sakana in Arcadia. We’re good friends with the owner there, and the quality of the fish and food in general is top notch.

713 W Duarte Rd Ste H (Next to IHOP)
Arcadia, CA 91007
(626) 821-9800

img_0948

Gin Tako. Basically little balls cooked with a piece of octopus inside, then poured over with a broth. NOT to be confused with Takoyaki.

img_0949

Special #1, consisting of Uni (Sea Urchin Roe), Amaebi (Sweet Shrimp), and Hirame (Halibut). Super fresh, super good.

img_0950

Soup made from the head of the Amaebi. Usually get to choose to have the head either made into soup, or have it fried. I usually prefer it fried, but I was feeling for soup that day for some reason. Either way, can’t go wrong.

img_0951

Ika Watayaki. Squid put under the broiler, then covered with a nice sauce. Especially tasty when you wash it down with a nice glass of Asahi or Sapporo hahah.

img_0952

Uni and Ikura Nigiri Sushi. Sea Urchin Roe on the left, Salmon Roe on the right. Two of my favorites.

img_0953

Black Cod with Miso. AMAZINGLY good.

img_0954

Why I also love eating with my dad. He never lets me pay LOL.

Afterwards, I dropped him back home, then started heading back home to my house in LA. On the way, I remembered that one of my favorite programs was running on Sirius, and immediately had to tune in.

img_0959

Basically plays new releases from different DJ’s, as well as some classics from his personal collection. Always in for a treat if you’re into that kind of music.

Anyway, got home and relaxed for a bit, then had to head out to Rowland Heights to meet up with Randy, who was buying my Blackberry Curve. I had already parked my C63 in, so I decided to take the R6, since I haven’t ridden it since coming back from Vegas. Always fun of course, pulled an average of 90-95 on the 60 freeway, and got there in about 15-20 minutes. Same thing on the way back home hahah. Francis and Allen called me once I got back, and we met up at Mr Coffee for another late night, ending in another late-night food run. This time, we headed out to Lucky Boy out in Pasadena. Known for their GUT-BUSTING Breakfast Burritos, I really wasn’t in the mood to get blowed up, so I got a club sandwich, while Allen got an order of Fried Zucchini Sticks, and Francis got a Bacon Burger. That was pretty much it for the night. Forgive me for the lack of pictures, as I left my iPhone back at home =(. Next time.

Finally, we get to Monday. Nothing really much to say other than.. it’s Monday LOL. I did however, check my bike real quick before rolling out, and noticed that there was definitely something different about my tires..

img_0963

How the deuce did the 60 Freeway do that to my tires?! Oh well. They’ll smooth out soon enough.

Went in to work around noon, finished up some work, then one of my co-workers needed to go to Fry’s to return something, so we decided to grab lunch there at the cafe while we were at it. Yes, I know. Fry’s for lunch? Trust, they’re sandwiches are actually pretty satisfying.

img_0964

img_0965

My pick of the day.

img_0966

But these are still my all-time favorites. *HINT HINT*

img_0967

Tuna Salad Sandwich on Rye, a slice of Dill Pickle, some Salt and Vinegar Kettle Chips, and a nice cold Lemonade. Solid Combo hahah.

Later on that night, I ended up at the Pantry with Yoshi, since that was one of his favorite places, and since Japan really doesn’t have anything like that. Who am I to ever say “no” to The Pantry?

877 S Figueroa St
Los Angeles, CA 90017
(213) 972-9279

img_0968

On the corner of 9th and Figueroa.

img_0970

Packed as usual.

img_0971

Yep, it’s an LA Monument. Never closed since 1950.

img_0972

Dinner menu up top, as the breakfast menu doesn’t come up until 4AM.

img_0973

Cole Slaw. Quite satisfying.

img_0974

I could come here JUST for this. Sourdough Toast w/ butter. Slather on some jam, and you’re in heaven. Ridiculously good.

img_0975

Bacon and Cheese Omelet. Don’t let the size fool you.. it’s actually pretty hard to finish unless you have a strong stomach LOL.

img_0976

What I ordered: Country Fried Steak w/ Sausage Gravy. The peas and the potatoes were covering about another 1/3 of the steak LOL.

After that, I headed back home, and proceeded to take some metamucil to help digest all that food. If you ever eat there, be prepared… the next morning will be hell if you’re not ready for it hahah.

Anyway, that’s about it for this post. Time to get back on the grind so I can actually try to sleep EARLIER today.

Another comic for the go.

comictrojanhorse5

LOL.

That’s it from me. Goodnight everyone!

– MF Charles

Leave a Reply

